Happy Belated Birthday, Mary Ann Hoberman! (children’s poet laureate)

August 12 was Mary Ann Hoberman‘s birthday. If you’ve never read any of her poems you should definitely check them out.

Mary Ann Hoberman is the current children’s poet laureate. Her 2-year tenure will be ending very soon (October, I think?), but her poetry will be enjoyed forever. She has a very unique voice in the children’s poetry world…very contemplative, very special. Reading her work reminds us that the best children’s writers do not talk down to their audience, but rather they present big ideas in terms readers can understand.

Check out one of her poems below. If you like it, you’re in luck because M.A.H. has written over 40 books!! Also, you can check out an audio clip of her reading a FANTASTIC poem, The Mother is Child to the Poet.

YOU AND I

Only one I in the whole wide world

And millions and millions of you,

But every you is an I to itself

And I am a you to you, too!

But if I am a you and you are an I

And the opposite also is true,

It makes us both the same somehow

Yet splits us each in two.

It’s more and more mysterious,

The more I think it through:

Every you everywhere in the world is an I;

Every I in the world is a you!

From: MY SONG IS BEAUTIFUL (Little, Brown and Co., 1994)

Leave a Reply

