Back-to-school worries… (& poetry by Judith Viorst)

Be extra nice to your kids this weekend. If they seem out of sorts, extra rambunctious or act out more than usual, they may be anxious about starting school. After all, as poet Judith Viorst shows us, there are lots of things for kids to worry about…

The First Day of School

Will they let me go when I need to go to the bathroom?
And what if I get lost on my way back to class?
And what if all of the other kids are a hundred, a thousand,
a million times smarter than I am?
And what if we have a spelling test, or a reading test, or an…
Anything test, and I’m the only person who doesn’t pass?

And what if my teacher decides that she doesn’t like me?
And what if, all of a sudden, a tooth gets loose?
And what if I can’t find my lunch, or sit on my lunch,
Or I (oops!) drop my lunch down someplace like the toilet?
Will they let me starve or will somebody lend me a sandwich?
A cookie? A cracker? An apple? Some juice?

And what if they say, “Do this,” and I don’t understand them?
And what if there’s teams, and nobody picks me to play?
And what if I took off my sneakers, and also my socks,
And also my jeans, my sweatshirt, and T-shirt
And started the first day of school on the second day?

–Judith Viorst

I’m very interested to hear what kinds of things you’ve found that your kids worry about going back to school? Comments?

Leave a Reply

